Dinner: Veg enchilada bake with homemade enchilada sauce, fruit smoothie and salsa

2014-05-11 21.05.532014-05-11 21.05.36

I have a thing for mexican food. A huge thing. This thing is only diminished by my even bigger thing for asian food. I make mexican at least once a week and it’s always so easy to make vegan. Today I felt like experimenting with a new recipe and, my god was it delicious. Here’s the recipe I used: http://www.stacyandcharlie.com/2013/04/skinny-vegetable-enchilada-bake.html

I substitute the cheese for vegan cheese and add nutritious yeast for added protein, but the thing that makes this an amazing dish is the enchilada sauce. I make my own, because it’s so easy and delicious that I never want to get a store bought one. The recipe I use is very similar to this one: http://damndelicious.net/2014/03/17/homemade-enchilada-sauce/

I use tomato passata instead of chopped tomatoes and less chilli, as well as a lot more spices. I leave it on the hob for 15 mins to get it nice and thick and then use it for pretty much anything, from nachos to pasta! I had some store bought salsa sitting in the fridge as well (always prepared for impromptu mexican), so had that too.

For the smoothie:

1 ripe banana

200ish grams of berries

fruit juice (with no added sugar, I used orange and apple) to desired consistency

honey or maple syrup or other sweetener, to taste

Throw everything in a blender and blend. I made frozen lollies from this as well, so when that week of summer comes, I’ll be ready.

Price per portion: £2.30 for the enchiladas and sauce, plus £1.50 for the smoothie

Protein per portion: 25 grams, with the added nutritious yeast, plus a few grams for the smoothie

Leave a Reply

