Dinner: Mac n’ cheese

2014-05-17 19.25.15

When I have a bit more time on my hands I like to experiment with new recipes. Over the weekend I had a huge mac n cheese craving (ok, just a cheese craving), so I attempted to make a vegan equivalent. And oh my was it good! I started with a basic cauliflower sauce from this excellent food blog: http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2013/05/cheesy-cauliflower-sauce.html

I adjusted the spices to suit my tastes (add all of the spices! And substituted tumeric for curry powder because, why not) and put in fresh mustard instead of powder. I had lots of sauce left over, so I thickened it into dip consistency to be used on nachos at a later date. It looked a bit dubious, but I swear it tasted delicious!

2014-05-17 19.19.20

I mixed the sauce it with macaroni, leftover broccoli and mushrooms and baked it in the oven with some breadcrumbs sprinkled on top until it was crispy.

Price per portion: £0.75-ish

Protein per portion: 33 grams

Leave a Reply

