Dinner: Mock duck pizza

2014-06-07 20.40.41

I was rearranging my spice cabinet (which anyone who knows me knows I do frequently) when I spied a can of mock duck hiding in the back of my cupboard, where it must have been quietly waiting for the better part of 3 months, mostly due to my distrust of “meat” that comes out of a can, and also probably fear. But this weekend I decided to bite the bullet and make something out of it, namely a fajita pizza. I must say that I was very impressed with the mock duck, it had the texture and look of real meat and tasted really good on the pizza!
Since I’ve posted about making dough pizza before (https://feedingscientist.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/dinner-mushroom-spinach-and-scampi-pizza/), I’ll go straight into the toppings:

I cut and fried an assortment of veg (mushrooms, sundried tomatoes, courgette, broccoli, peppers, etc). I used my homemade fajita sauce (from  http://damndelicious.net/2014/03/17/homemade-enchilada-sauce/) for the base and then topped with melty pizza cheese, the veg, mock duck and a bunch of nuts I had on hand. Baked it at 200 degrees for just over 15 mins or until the dough was crunchy.

 

Price per portion: £1.50

Protein per portion: 40ish grams

Leave a Reply

