Dinner: General Tso’s tofu

2014-06-06 20.04.17

I’ve realised in the past week or so that I don’t really eat much variety of food throughout the week, mostly sticking to pasta-rice-tortillas, which is why I haven’t had many new posts of food lately and also why I need to change things up. In the future I’ll be trying to incorporate more wheats and beans into my diet, but for now here’s some rice.

I found this recipe here: http://domesticsuperhero.com/2014/02/26/general-tsos-tofu/

While I’ve never eaten general Tso’s chicken while an omnivore, I liked the look of this. But. The frying of the tofu did not work at all for me, so I ended up with shredded, bland chunks of tofu. Also, the sauce was way too sweet (again, not sure if it’s supposed to be) so I had to dilute it liberaly with much rice. The boy liked it though, which is just more proof that I’m just very picky about my sweet food.

Price per portion: £1.55

Protein per portion: 40ish grams with a portion of wild and long grain rice

Leave a Reply

