Dinner: Pearl barley mushroom and leek risotto

2014-06-22 21.37.43

I decided to take the plunge and explore these so called risottos without rice. As someone who has grown up with lots of Italian food, I am rather cautious about messing with established food combinations. This may make me a terrible vegan. Either way, I’ve attempted an easy mushroom, leek and garlic risotto found here: http://www.stylist.co.uk/life/recipes/pearl-barley-risotto-with-mushrooms-leeks-and-garlic#image-rotator-1

I left out the garlic roasting (no one has time for that) and what even are Micro leaf garlic chives? I substitited the cheese for vegan cheese but it would have been great without it as well. It turned out nutty and creamy, definitely a favourite. I also added a few Cheatin’ bacon rashes, which I never had before but they were very yum and smokey.

Price per portion: £ 1.85

Protein per portion: 18ish grams

Leave a Reply

